Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+

AHRI Announces New Officers, Presents Awards


ARLINGTON, Va. — The Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) elected new officers and presented awards to industry leaders during its 2014 Annual Meeting in Carlsbad, Calif.

“We are pleased to recognize these thoughtful, tireless leaders, and thank them for their service to AHRI and the HVACR and water heating industry,” said Stephen Yurek, AHRI president and CEO.

The officers and executive committee are as follows:

  • Vice Chairman: Doug Young, Lennox International Residential Heating and Cooling
  • Treasurer: Chris Drew, Burnham Holdings
  • Immediate Past Chairman: Robert McDonough, Carrier/UTC
  • Executive Committee:
    • Dennis Appel, Luvata Grenada
    • Gary Clark, Goodman Manufacturing
    • John Galyen, Danfoss
    • Nick Giuffre, Bradford White
    • Bill Johnson, HillPhoenix
    • Chris Peel, Rheem Manufacturing Company
    • Earle Pfefferkorn, Cleaver Brooks
    • Dave Regnery, Trane
    • Rod Rushing, Johnson Controls
    • Bill Steel, Bard Manufacturing, and
    • Kevin Wheeler, A. O. Smith

The Richard C. Schulze Award is given for distinguished service and commitment to AHRI and the industry’s goals and objectives. AHRI congratulates:

  • Ron Duncan, Magic Aire
  • Phillip Johnson, Daikin Applied
  • Dave LaGrand, NORDYNE
  • Bill McQuade, Johnson Controls
  • Rajan Rajendran, Emerson Climate Technologies

The AHRI Public Service Award recognizes deserving individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to the HVACR industry and in furthering AHRI’s goals. AHRI congratulates the Cedric Sloan, recently retired Director General of the Federation of Environmental Trade Associations (FETA), based in the United Kingdom.

The AHRI Distinguished Service Award is AHRI’s highest award and recognizes individuals who are leaders in the industry and who have made significant contributions throughout their careers. AHRI congratulates C. David Myers, formerly vice president and president, building efficiency at Johnson Controls, who has served the HVACR industry with distinction, energy, honor, and humor throughout his long career.

For additional information, visit www.ahrinet.org.